Recipes
Comments 10

My Culinary Adventures #13: Potato Skins with Melted Cheese and Bacon Bits

When I was 1, my parents moved from the big city to a little village in the Kent countryside, where we lived opposite the village pub: The Bull (the name of most English pubs). From what I can recall, we used to go there a lot. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if  my favourite piece of duplo is still stuck down the side of one of the benches.

The pub cooked one of my favourite meals, which I used to order as often as possible: potato skins with mounds of cheese and bacon bits. I don’t know what they did to make them taste as amazing as they did, but I haven’t had any as good since. Still, I thought I could give them a go. They weren’t quite the same but they were flavoured with a hint of nostalgia. 

Ingredients – 2 servings

  • 3 medium-large potatoes
  • 4 slices bacon
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Salt
  • Sunflower oil

Recipe

  1. Heat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Wash the potatoes and use a fork to prick the skins all over. Then bake the potatoes in the oven for 1 hour.
  3. When the potatoes are done, leave them to cool for about 10 minutes, then cut them in half, horizontally, and use a spoon to scoop out the middle of the potato. Leave roughly 1cm of potato around the side of the potato skin.
  4. Using a pastry brush, rub some the oil over each potato skin, inside and out. Then sprinkle a pinch of salt on the inside of the potato skins.
  5. Bake the potato skins in the oven for 20 minutes, turning them over halfway through.
  6. Cut the bacon slices up into small squares and fry them until they are golden brown.
  7. Once the potato skins are done, generously grate some cheese over them and sprinkle the bacon bits on top. Pop in the oven for a few minutes so that the cheese melts- and they’re done!
10 Comments

  1. Look amazing! Cheese and bacon make the world a better place 🙂 Thank you for the recipe – I will certainly be trying it out! Wonderful, relatively quick, and easy – perfect for a work night treat.

    Like

    • Haha I could not have put it better myself, they are pretty much my favourite things! Good luck with the recipe! It is indeed quick and easy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

