Recipes
Comments 12

My Culinary Adventures #12: Aubergine with Tomato Sauce and Mozzarella

I’ve never been much of an aubergine eater. Often when I’ve had it, I’ve not really been a fan. But there have been a couple of occasions where I’ve been proved wrong. One of those was an Italian meal where my aubergine dish was like a vegetarian bolognese with mozzarella, by which I mean it was baked in a tomato sauce. Another time was a recent Lebanese meal where we had aubergine in a tomato sauce with chickpeas and Lebanese spices. 

I thought it would be worth trying to combine the two. I have some spices leftover from my trip to Morocco, which I have been trying not to use because they are awesome but I have no idea what they are so need to use sparingly, and I picked up a ball of mozzarella to melt over the top.

My dish didn’t taste quite like either my Italian or my Lebanese meals but it was not half bad.

Ingredients- 2 servings

  • 1 aubergine
  • 1 onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Handful of mushrooms
  • 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • Ketchup
  • 1 mug vegetable stock
  • 1 tsp spices (like paprika)
  • Mixed herbs
  • 100g mozzarella
  • Olive oil

Recipe

  1. Heat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Slice and dice the onion and mushrooms and fry them with the crushed garlic clove until they start to soften.
  3. Slice the aubergine by cutting it into thick discs and then cutting the discs into quarters. Add it to the pan and fry until starts to soften.
  4. Pour the chopped tomatoes into the pan with a few skirts of Ketchup and the vegetable stock. Sprinkle in the mixed herbs and whatever spice you fancy (like paprika) and stir.
  5. Let the mixture simmer for about 30-40 minutes, stirring regularly.
  6. Once the stock has been soaked up, pour the mixture into a baking dish and top with sliced pieces of mozzarella. Bake in the oven for a few minutes, until the cheese has melted.
12 Comments

      • ganeshartisanat says

        It was soooo good ! But I put too many spices… I’ll cook some more during the week 😉 But THANK YOU for this recipe !

        Like

      • Good! You’re welcome! Sorry I know my notes about spices weren’t particularly clear! I’m using paprika and another one I got from Morocco but I have no idea what it is!!

        Like

      • ganeshartisanat says

        Oh no don’t worry it’s my fault !
        Haha my brother brought back from Africa (might have been from Madagascar..) loads of spices, but no names on them… Blind test ! 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

