Recipes
Comments 6

My Culinary Adventures #10: Tzatziki and Pitta Bread

I am a big fan of Mediterranean food and going to restaurants to feast on mounds of plates of mezze.  I therefore thought it was about time to make some for myself. Tzatziki seemed like a good place to start, since it’s made with things I generally have in the fridge anyway and it’s easy peasy.

I made up quite a lot to have with some duck, in a bap, which was not a bad combination but not worth putting up here as a recipe.  There was a lot left over but it came in pretty handy when I was making dinner for some friends recently. I was making a beef stew which had to simmer for a while and I was pretty hungry- I imagined they were too- so thought it would make a good starter. I wasn’t wrong.

Ingredients – roughly 4 servings

  • 250g plain Greek yoghurt
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1 spring onion
  • 1/2 lemon/lemon juice
  • 4 pitta breads

Recipe

  1. Roughly chop the cucumber and put it through a food processor. No worries if you don’t have one, just slice it into small, fine pieces.
  2. Slice the spring onion. You can make tzatziki without spring onion but if you have it then it’s good to throw in.
  3. Mix the spring onion and cucumber pieces into the yoghurt and the juice of half a lemon. Alternatively, add a few shakes of lemon juice if you have it in a bottle.
  4. Toast the pitta breads and then tear up into pieces to dip in- and that’s it!
6 Comments

  1. patriciaswift says

    It sounds really easy to make and looks great! I love having Tzatziki in the summer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

