Recipes
Comments 17

My Culinary Adventures #8: Beef & Pork Burgers

As my regular readers will know, I have been trying to learn to cook over the past couple of weeks and my attempts have not always gone well. Thankfully, however, on Monday lunch time, I struck gold- well maybe not gold but at least bronze- with a burger recipe.
Burgers are one of my most favourite food groups, so I thought it would be great if I could actually make one. However, there is nothing more disappointing in life than a poor/average burger. When I tried to make beef meatballs a little while ago, they were fine but plain so I thought that simply sticking some beef mince together to form a burger pattie would go the same way.

I figured that since Swedish meatballs (beef and pork) are generally so much better than plain beef ones, I could use both beef and pork for my burger. It worked. Or at least, I think it did I did smother the thing in sauce so it was a little hard to tell.

Ingredients – 4 burgers

  • 250g pork mince
  • 250g beef mince
  • 1 onion
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • Olive oil
  • 8 slices Cheddar cheese
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 1 beef tomato
  • Iceberg lettuce
  • Gherkins
  • 4 burger baps
  • Ketchup and mayonnaise to serve

Recipe

  1. Heat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Slice and dice the onion into small pieces.
  3. In a bowl, use a fork to mash together the pork and beef mince, the egg and the onion. Season with a bit of salt and pepper.
  4. Use your hand to form four equally sized patties.
  5. Heat the olive oil in a frying pan (or wok in my case) and fry each pattie on both sides until they are sealed, golden brown and cooked through. Make sure you turn them gently so you can keep an eye on them and they don’t burn.
  6. Put the patties on a tray/in a baking dish and cover each with a couple of slices of Cheddar cheese. Put them in the oven until the cheese is nice and melted.
  7. Fry the bacon in some oil until the slices are are golden.
  8. Cut open the burger baps and spread some ketchup and/or mayonnaise one each side. Pop a burger pattie with cheese in each bap and layer with bacon, a slice of tomato, lettuce and some sliced gherkin- and your work is done!
17 Comments

Leave a Reply

