Recipes
Comments 3

My Culinary Adventures #7: Chicken Kiev

Chicken Kiev has always been one of my favourite meals. I therefore cannot explain why I haven’t actually had it since I moved to London. Since I’m trying to learn to cook and all, I figured I could actually try and make one from scratch. 

Up until this week, I had been pretty proud of my developing cooking skills. My spaghetti bolognese and chilli con carne are awesome, even if I do say so myself. Okay, they are based on my mother’s recipe but I still managed to follow the thing pretty well. Also, I have made some better-than-average chicken curries.

This week however I have tried to take things to the next level and haven’t been quite so successful. My fried chicken was okay but had issues. I made houmous today and it was edible but I wouldn’t describe it as anything more than that. Likewise, my chicken kiev didn’t quite turned out as planned.

You are meant to make a pocket in the chicken in which you can stuff the garlic butter, before closing it up again. I watched a YouTube video and it seemed pretty simple but in practice I got it wrong. The cut I made was too vertical and, in the case of one breast, went through the other side a little bit. I therefore couldn’t close it up and, in the oven, the butter almost completely evaporated. I know a chicken kiev without butter kinda defeats but the point, but happily it still tasted basically the same. I guess the chicken had soaked up that lovely buttery, garlicy taste.

I served it on a bed of macaroni with grated cheese- because I couldn’t be bothered to make anything more complicated. The night before, however, I had made actual macaroni cheese- the way my mum makes it- with bacon bits, to go with the fried chicken that will go down as one of my less successful meals.

Ingredients (2 serving)

Kievs

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 slice of bread
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled
  • 75g butter
  • 1-2 tbsp parsley
  • Olive oil

Recipe

  1. Heat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Allow the butter to soften and then mash it in with the crushed garlic clove and finely sliced parsley. Pop it in the fridge to harden.
  3. Toast the bread and then grind it into breadcrumbs in a food processor.
  4. Make a pocket in the chicken by slicing into the thickest part of each breast at the top and working the knife down. You should go horizontal and down. Don’t do what I did and accidentally go straight down.
  5. Stuff each breast with the garlic butter and close up the pocket.
  6. Beat the egg in a bowl and lay out two plates, one with the flour and another with the breadcrumbs.
  7. Dip and roll each chicken breast in turn into the flour, egg and the breadcrumbs, making sure they are covered.
  8. Place both chicken breasts into a baking dish and drizzle with a bit of olive oil. Pop them into the oven and allow to cook for 20-25 minutes, or until they are cooked through.
3 Comments

Leave a Reply

