Recipes
Comments 4

Macaroni Cheese with Bacon Bits

Since The Flatmate is currently far away enjoying her summer holidays, I figured I would use the time to test out some new recipes that she can’t object to. Both on myself and some unsuspecting guinea pigs (some have already cancelled and re-arranged, I fear they doubt my cooking skills). 

I decided to start with fried chicken, as I do crave it all the time. I can’t say it turned out as well as I hoped. Although it wasn’t actually a bad first attempt, even if I do say so myself.

I decided to serve it with my Mum’s mac and cheese with bacon bits, as I’ve been craving it for ages too. The picture shows it served in a ramekin but that’s only for the photo. Obviously I made waaayy too much for one ramekin – there was at least twice that amount. Thankfully my pasta turned out more successfully.

Ingredients for one big old portion (or two littler ones)

  • 100g macaroni cheese
  • 1/2 pint milk
  • 1 tablespoon cornflour
  • 3 handfuls grated Cheddar cheese
  • 1-2 slices of bacon, diced
  • Cooking oil (as above)

Recipe

  1. Put the macaroni in a pan of boiling water. I like it quite soft so tend to put it on for a while.
  2. Warm up the milk in a pan. Whilst it is still warm, and NOT boiling, add the cornflour and keep stirring until the mixture starts to boil.
  3. Take the pan off the heat and add a couple of handfuls of grated cheese. Stir quickly until so that the cheese melts. Put the pan back on a low heat for 2-3 minutes and stir.
  4. Fry the bacon bits in some oil until they are golden brown.
  5. Once everything is done, cover the macaroni in the cheese sauce and mix in the bacon bits. Use the leftover handful of grated cheese to sprinkle over the top and voila! IMG_2639
4 Comments

  1. Hi Ellie! I love your blog and your very down to earth approach. I was wondering if you had any advice for a new blogger like myself? (How do I rake in an audience perhaps) thanks in advance xx

    Like

    • Thank you very much!! I think the best advice I can give is simply to make sure that you post regularly and by coming up with ideas for different types of content to make your blog stand out. Interacting with other bloggers and using social media for publicise yourself are other ways of attracting attention. I hope that helps!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

