Recipes
Comments 8

My Culinary Adventures #5: Jamie’s Asian-Style Chicken

A couple of Christmases ago, my mum optimistically bought me a copy of Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals. Well last week, I finally gave one a whirl. Whilst flicking through, I found one page recipe with some tasty looking Korean fried rice made with lemon juice, sesame seeds and an egg. I’m not usually that fussed about rice but I’ve been seriously craving all things egg recently so I wanted to give it a try. On another page there was a recipe for Thai Chicken Laksa. I certainly didn’t have all the ingredients for the laksa but the chicken alone looked pretty good and conveniently straight forward. Some of the ingredients overlapped between the two, and by some I mean they both just had sesame seeds. The chicken was meant to have lime with it but lemon is basically the same thing.


The lime-replacement lemon wasn’t the only divergence I had to make from the recipe. I had neither the necessary greaseproof paper, rolling pin or griddle to hand, which were part of the chicken recipe. No need to worry though, I made it work. The chicken was actually amazing. The rice, I could have lived without to be honest. But I think that was my fault rather than Jamie’s. The recipe called for brown rice but I only had long grain and it just didn’t really work.

The recipe called for frying the eggs, which is what I did, however in the interest of making this slightly healthier I have changed this to poached in the recipe below. I prefer poached anyway. Honest. And I can never fry eggs without the bottom going all brown and crispy, i.e. a bit burnt. But you can fry if you’d rather/if you’re better at it than I am.

Ingredients for two servings

  • 2 chicken fillets
  • 1 tsp Chinese five-spice
  • 1 tbsp runny honey
  • Sesame seeds
  • 2/3s mug of brown rice
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 lemon (or lemon juice)
  • Salt and pepper

Recipe

  1. Boil the rice (the pack says 25 minutes but I always find it’s closer to 35-40 minutes).
  2. Slice the chicken into strips and season with some salt, pepper and the Chinese five-spice.
  3. Fry the chicken so that it is cooked through. Pour on the honey, squeeze on some lemon juice, sprinkle over some sesame seeds and toss so that the chicken is covered. I warmed up the oven a bit then turned off the heat and, once the chicken was done, I popped it in, just to keep it warm. Obviously put it on a plate or something, don’t put a frying pan in the oven!
  4. Put a pan of water onto boil. When simmering, use a spoon to make a little whirlpool in the middle and crack in an egg. Do the same with the other. Leave to poach for 2-3 minutes before taking out with a spoon. Alternatively, use a couple of poaching cups if you have these to hand. This will take a bit longer. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds into the eggs as they cooked, as per Jamie’s instruction.
  5. Drain the rice and fry, sprinkle on some sesame seeds and serve. Place the poached eggs on top of the rice, add the chicken and voila!
8 Comments

  1. wow! we have a Filipino version of that dish – we call it “chixsilog” chicken, fried rice and egg.

    Like

    • It was both!
      To be honest, it’s hard to say exactly how much it cost as I had to buy packs of everything (like Chinese five spice, sesame seeds, chicken breasts, honey, rice and eggs) so that cost a bit but everything went far!

      Like

Leave a Reply

