Norway
Comments 8

Eight things to do in Oslo

A few days before the first May Bank Holiday, I had the horrible realisation that I don’t really have any more annual leave from work until the end of September. That means: no summer holiday. It was too late to plan anything for that three day weekend but there was still time to organise something for May Bank Holiday number two. My flatmate agreed to come with me and we had one criteria- it had to be someone neither of us had been to. It also had to work money-wise and flight-wise, by which I mean it had to be cheap and the flight times had to be after work on Friday night and back Monday afternoon.

A bit of research later and my flatmate found the cheapest flight deal was to Oslo. I’d never really considered going to Norway before but the flight times were also perfect and the deal came with three nights in a hotel. We booked immediately. Then we remembered one key thing- Norway is expensive. Very expensive. However, as I was set to discover, it was totally worth it.

It also didn’t have to be quite so expensive. An Oslo Pass lasts for 24 hours (£28), 48 hours (£41) or 72 hours (£51) and gets the holder free entry into around 30 museums, free public transport, discounts in restaurants and more. This means that you can make the most of being in the city without it costing the earth. 

#1. Island hopping around Oslo Fjord

11061772_10155629282490331_8634449721789716059_n

If it’s a nice day in Oslo, take it and run. Run all the way down to the harbour, hop on a ferry and get your ass over to some of the islands in the Oslo Fjord.

A fjord is an inlet or channel surrounded by steep sides or cliffs, which is formed through glacial erosion. Norway has some amazingly impressive fjords but sadly these are located in the west of the country. My flatmate and I spent hours trying to find a good way from Oslo to these fjords and back in the space of a day. The only way we could find was a tour which would have cost over £200. At first we wrote it off, then we remembered that we spent that much visiting Cairo for the day during our stay in Luxor. In the end though we figured we only had a limited time so we should stay in the city.

Apparently, the Oslo Fjord is the most unimpressive. I didn’t explore it thoroughly, so perhaps it would have got better had I gone further in. Instead, we caught a ferry to Hovedøya, one of the islands in the fjord. I’d heard that if you were going to visit any of them Hovedøya was the best bet. We found a rocky crag on the coastline where I fell asleep in the sun, surrounded by people picnicing and barbecuing. I was jealous. That would have been ideal. Food or no food, however it was still the perfect place to relax in the sun.

#2. Monastery ruins on Hovedøya

10418520_10155629281635331_8654835051638364333_n

I’ve already said that Hovedøya is, apparently, the best island to go to (it certainly had the longest queue for the ferry) but I haven’t said what made it great. Sure, it was a good place to chill in the sun but I’m sure the other islands would have been good venues for this as well.

My flatmate and I started off by visiting the cafe, where she treated herself to an icepop. The steep Norweigan prices put me off getting anything that wasn’t completely necessary for myself. Then we explored a the ruins of a monastery, which lay next to the cafe. As my flatmate said, we do love some good ruins. I did a degree in good ruins after all (well, I did joint honours, so technically I only did half a degree in good ruins but you get my point).

We spent a little while hopping around the inner and outer walls of the monastery before climbing a tower and viewing the site from above. It’s not a particularly extensive site and there wasn’t really any information- that I could see anyway- about the place, which was a shame, but it was a fun place to explore.

#3. Sculptures in Vigeland Park

11148500_10155629283860331_2327121483286549214_n

Vigeland Park is a park (big shock) full of sculptures made by artist Gustav Vigeland. Apparently, there are over 200 statutes in the site, post of which are located along the central pathway. We didn’t wander off this track so I think we may have missed some but we saw the highlights. These included a series of sculpted individuals and groups along a bridge, a fountain, an obelisk made up of statues of people on a plinth, with other groups of statues placed on the steps leading up to it, and something that looks like a Christmas wreath but made up of people.

One thing that all of these statutes had in come was that they all consisted of nude figures (less classically inspired and more bulky with less bodily definition) positioned in various, and sometimes rather bizarre, poses. These included a father attempting to balance his infant children, one of which was on his foot, and a mother with a gag in her mouth being ridden by her kids. My personal favourite was a toddler mid-tantrum. Something both my flatmate and I found annoying was the lack of any information detailing the inspiration behind the sculptures. Admittedly, there was a museum we could have gone into that probably explained it but it would have been nice to at least have an information board near the main sculpture area.

In all honesty, particularly without knowing anything about the place, it’s actually quite hard to describe. You should just go and see it for yourself while I look for a Wikipedia entry on the place (if I ever get round to actually doing that I’ll upload another- better- post).

#4. Akershus Castle and Fortress

11022417_10155629278950331_2983355532307036822_n

Akershus Fortress is a castle located on a cliff overlooking Oslo’s harbour. I’d heard that you could get some great views of the Oslo Fjord so, when a sunny day came, my flatmate tied it into our island hopping day (which turned into just the one hop to Hovedøya). We walked uphill into the castle and climbed the banks to see these views for ourselves, cameras in hand. The views probably would have been great- if it wasn’t for the fact that most of them were marred by a giant cruise ship. Although I must admit, that was pretty impressive. Just less of a natural wonder.

The castle, built around the 1290s, has been transformed over the centuries and has been used as a royal residence and a fortress. There are dungeons and a chapel to explore, amongst other rooms, and the tombs of a few members of royalty reside there. It didn’t take long to wander around- but then we didn’t use the audio guide nor go into any of the museums on the site- and, whilst it wasn’t the most amazing castle I’ve been to, I would say it’s worth a visit. There’s some beautiful furniture and decorations to see.

#5. Oslo Cathedral

11136613_10155629300345331_5776621564257655867_n

Since Oslo Cathedral was at the end of the road where my hotel was, it seemed like an easy stop to make. We planned to pop in on the morning of our departure, however when we arrived  around 11.30am, there were a service taking place so we had to turn back. Half an hour or so later, however, we were walking past the church with our bags in tow, on the way to Oslo Central Station, to catch the train to the airport, and we saw the congregation leaving as the morning service ended. We took that as our queue and slipped inside. the organ was still playing and a few people were still sitting in their pews. We took our place among them and looked around. The decorations were ornate and the painted ceiling was unusual. We weren’t in there for long but it was worth a peak.

#6. Check out some architecture

11110501_10155629286470331_7781983443475523798_n

Whenever I pictured Scandinavian countries, I pictured somewhere grey, wet and cold. I’d be lying if I said there was no wetness, coldness or greyness at all during my trip but that doesn’t mean that my image of Scandinavia was the right one. My first thoughts of Oslo were of how clean and quiet it seemed. The next were how nice some of the buildings were, particularly around the main street of Karl Johans Gate. The Royal Palace was slightly disappointing in comparison to Buck House and City Hall was not impressive at all but the National Theatre, Parliament and other random buildings were actually quite beautiful. So when you’re wandering around the streets of Oslo, pay attention to what you are passing by.

#7. Explore the museums

1459213_10155629287870331_6119203861210055336_n

If there’s one thing that Oslo seems to have in abundance is museums, like I said above, the Oslo Pass gets you free entry into about 30 of them. These aren’t just any museums either, there’s a real mix. From Viking Ships, ships that explored the Arctic and galleries to an open air museum where you can wander around old folk villages and the Nobel Peace Center- there is a lot of cool and interesting stuff to learn about in Oslo.

One thing to note is that many places are closed on Mondays. This was a mistake I made meaning that I missed going to the National Gallery to see Munch’s Scream painting.

#8. Sample the local cuisine

11377280_10155629297435331_4232696355316901074_n

As with anywhere, if you want an insight into the local culture, sampling the local cuisine is a must. In Norway that meant two things as far as I could tell: firstly, salmon was everywhere and, secondly, reindeer. Sorry Rudolph. My flatmate and I rocked up to a restaurant called Elias, Mat and Sant having heard they did a great reindeer stew but sadly it seemed to no longer be on the menu (perhaps it was the wrong season) but they did have salmon. Really good salmon. Sure it was about £20 but that seemed to be standard. They also had board games so we could eat and play Scrabble at the same time.

Our second meal took us to Rorbua (which was one of the Oslo Pass discount restaurants), where Viltgryte was on the menu (for about £22). This was a moose and reindeer stew, which was pretty amazing, I have to say. Although I have no idea which meat was which. I had it alongside a wine glass full Mystic Arctic beer- apparently the first beer to reach the North Pole. sounds pretty Norwegian to me.

8 Comments

  1. I was blown away by the Viking museum, the perfectly persevered ships were incredible. I also loved the Kon-tiki museum which had the original balsa wood boat that a Norwegian Thor Heyerdal sailed across the Pacific Ocean.

    Like

    • Unfortunately I didn’t make it to the Kon-tiki museum- that’ll have to be one for next time!! THe Viking museum was easily one of the coolest places I have ever been!

      Like

  2. I was in Norway a couple of years ago and just realized what I missed. Sadly i and my partners decided to skip a proper visit of Oslo in order to get up to the north.
    Now I’ll have to go there again and see all the amazing places you listed 😀

    Like

    • Exactly- any excuse for a return trip, eh?! I didn’t really know much about Norway before I booked my trip so sadly missed out on a lot of beautiful sites elsewhere in the country. I’m going to have to plan a return trip as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

