Recipes
Comments 8

My Culinary Adventures #4: Gourmet Egg Sandwich

A great way to budget is by making your own lunch. Whilst it may be tempting to splash out on something from the shop or restaurant near your place of work, and whilst each meal may not necessarily seem expensive, the pennies mount up and DIY options don’t have to be boring.

Working from home regularly makes making my own lunches particularly easy. One lunchtime, I had a craving for pesto, as I nearly always do, but wasn’t feeling pasta. Well, I always feel like pesto pasta but pasta takes ages. I’d googled pesto-based ideas and found one involving a salad with eggs, mayonnaise and lemon juice and thought that would be great in sandwich. It turns out, I was right. Very right. And I was quite proud of myself.

Ingredients for one rather full sandwich:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 slices of bread
  • 1 tablespoon mayonnaise
  • 1.5 teaspoon pesto
  • Lemon juice
  • Butter/margarine
  • Optional: feta

Recipe:

  1. Boil a pan of water a place the two eggs into it. I read somewhere that if you had a bit of salt and used a spoon to lift the eggs in, out and then in again, this should help stop them breaking in the hot water. Leave for between 6-7 minutes.
  2. Whilst the eggs are boiling, mix the mayonnaise and pesto together in a bowl. Add either a couple of shakes of lemon juice or, if you have a real life lemon, cut a slice off and squeeze it.
  3. Once the eggs are done, peel the shell off and place them whole into the bowl with the sauce. Then use a knife to chop them into pieces. The yolks should still be runny and chopping them in the bowl means that no yummy yoke can escape and you then mix it altogether into the sauce.
  4. On one occasion I had some feta to hand, and yet another feta craving, so threw in some chunks. They added a nice bit of texture but if you don’t have any, or only a limited supply, I wouldn’t worry about it.
  5. Spread the butter or margarine onto your bread, which is again not completely necessary, and the spread out your mixture. Enjoy!
8 Comments

    • Egg salad sandwiches are served a lot over here but slightly different to the one I’ve done here! I do love all the food over in the states!

      Like

  1. You know, you can simplify this by just spreading the mayonaise on the sandwich and cut the boiled eggs in slices, put them on top and add some salad or tomato and salt or herbs? I love these kind of sandwiches. Never tried it with Feta, but now I will 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

