Recipes
Comments 2

My Culinary Adventures #3: Spaghetti Carbonara

Last night, my flatmate made what was essentially a carbonara, made with goat’s cheese (she’s dairy intolerant), peas and pancetta. It was good. Really good. Tonight, I’m home alone and was craving carbonara again so I thought I would try my hand at it to see if I could do as well. Technically, I have made carbonara before- about 10 years ago- but it turned into cheesey scrambled eggs and my friend and I fed it to her dog. With that in mind, I decided it would be a good idea to google a recipe instead of going off my cooking instincts. The one I found was from BBC Good Food and looked pretty straight forward but required snazzy cheese. Well, parmesan isn’t that snazzy but I don’t even know what pecorino cheese is. I only had access to plain old cheddar and some feta- so I had to adapt the recipe a bit. Here’s how things ended up: Ingredients- One Portion

  • 100g spaghetti
  • 1 egg
  • 25g cheddar cheese
  • 25g pancetta (to be honest, I could have done with a bit more)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • Dollop of butter/margarine
  • Black pepper
  • Optional: feta cheese

Recipe 

  1. Add the spaghetti into a pan of boiling water and cook for about 10 minutes (or until it is as done as you like it).
  2. Slice the pancetta (unless you do what I did and buy it pre-diced) and peel the garlic before crushing it with the back of a knife. Melt the butter in a pan and fry the garlic and the pancetta, until it is golden, on a medium heat.
  3. Crack the egg into a bowl, beat it and then add a couple of grinds of black pepper. Grate the cheese and mix it into the egg.
  4. Remove the garlic from the pan and add in the spaghetti, using tongs, when it’s cooked. Mix it all together and take the pan off the heat.
  5. Pour the cheese and egg mixture into the pasta pan and use the tongs to lift the pasta until it is covered in the sauce. If you want it a bit saucy/it looks a bit dry, add in a couple of spoons of the water you used to cook the pasta in.
  6. Serve! Since I had some feta to hand (and since I’ve now started eating it with everything), I cut up a few small chunks and sprinkled them on the top. I also grated a bit more cheddar on top, as large amounts of cheddar makes everything better.
2 Comments

  1. I love carbonara! I had gone to Italy with my girl friends a few years ago.. and that was what I ate ALL the time! I have since learnt the art of making a good carbonara to satiate my cravings, although I change it up a bit by adding mushrooms.. because I LOVE mushrooms! 😀 Definitely one of the easiest and yummalicious dish!

    Like

    • I was surprised at how easy it was to make! And it is SO good! I always order it in Italian restaurants! I have tried it with mushrooms before and it does work so well but haven’t made it that way yet! I made it with chicken the other day and that was a good combination!

      Like

Leave a Reply

