Recipes
Comments 5

My Culinary Adventures #2: Chicken Curry

Over the past few months, I have made a few attempts to actually cook something. I recently moved to London and decided that, since I am 23 now, I should probably learn to cook properly. When I was at university, I just lived off fajitas and spaghetti and meatballs. By the latter, I mean store-bought meatballs and store-bought pasta sauce.

I decided to try my hand at making a curry from scratch since the curry powder I bought in 2012 from Morocco has gone unused. At university, and whilst backpacking, I often made curry using sauce from a jar and I always thought it would be quite cool if I could actually make it myself. So should you happen to pick up some curry powder in an exotic market somewhere then here is something you can do with it, or least, this is what happened when I attempted to do something with it (spoiler, it turned out well and I was very smug).

Ingredients- Two Portions 

  • 1 onion- diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic- crushed
  • 1 small piece of garlic
  • 1 pepper – sliced
  • 1 cup of chicken stock
  • 1/2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 220g chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon plain flour
  • sunflower oil
  • butter/margarine
  • 2 small chicken breasts/1 large chicken breast- diced
  • 2/3 mug of rice
  • 2 naan breads

Recipe

  1. Melt a dollop of butter or margarine in a frying pan or wok and add the diced onion. Fry it until it’s soft and then add the garlic and pepper.
  2. Grate the ginger into the pan. Jamie recommended a “thumb-sized piece” in his recipe for a portion that can serve four. I had a piece that looked like half a rather fat thumb and used a bit over 2/3s of it. This was a bit too much for me so perhaps use a quarter of a thumb-sized piece for this recipe.
  3. Fry for a couple of minutes and then sprinkle the curry powder over the mixture and stir.
  4. On a lower heat, stir the flour in for a while so that the mixture is coated in it.
  5. Add the chicken stock cube to a cup of boiling water and stir in so that it dissolves. Then add the chicken stock to the mixture in the frying pan and stir until the sauce starts to thicken.
  6. Add the chopped tomatoes and stir in.
  7. I cooked the chicken in a separate pan with the sunflower oil in case my attempt went wrong and I could just have the chicken with something else. Well, I say “I”- the friend I invited over for dinner had to cook his own chicken as I was too frazzled, worrying that the sauce wouldn’t thicken. If you’re more together, you could probably cook the chicken with the sauce and I will try to do so next time! In this case, I let the sauce simmer on a low heat whilst my friend fried the chicken until it was cooked through and then added it to the sauce to simmer whilst I turned to the rice. Remember to give it a few stirs whilst it simmers.
  8. Pour the rice into another pan with some boiling water and cook through. This will probably take around 15 minutes- maybe more, maybe less, I may not have kept track exactly. If you get less flustered when cooking than I do, then you could probably get this going whilst doing the sauce so that it’s already to serve up sooner. Having said that, it doesn’t hurt to have some time to let the curry simmer and stew- or at least that’s what I told myself when I made my friend wait an extra 15-20 minutes for his dinner.
  9. Serve with a couple of naan breads, warmed up in the oven.
5 Comments

    • I was surprised that it actually tasted good- it was a bit touch-and-go for a while as I got rather frazzled 😛 Thank you for the link- that’s a great idea! I’ve shared this post and will try and cook something good this week so I have something new to share next Tuesday!!

      Like

  1. Infinite Explorer says

    This looks soooo good! Much more impressive than my university meals, student budgets don’t provide the most nutritious diets…
    Hope you’re enjoying London!

    Like

    • Thanks- it was surprisingly tasty and surprisingly inexpensive! A lot of the ingredients are things that you can use in lots of different meals, so they are good cupboard staples. I definitely know what you mean about student budgets (I was on one until recently and always stuck to quite innutritious meals) but I’m learning that sometimes all you need is some creativity and a bit of a google 😛
      And thank you, I am really enjoying London!

      Like

Leave a Reply

