Tips and Inspiration
Comments 6

New Year’s Resolutions: Take 13

It has been more about 12 and a half weeks since the beginning of the year. That’s 12 and a half weeks since New Years Resolutions have meant to have been in place. Unfortunately, mine barely lasted 12 a half minutes into a new year and I have been trying to pick them up ever since. At first, it was the first Monday of the new year- we’ve now had 13 Mondays. Then it was going to be February- it’s now basically April. Then it was when I moved to London but, after my move, I decided I deserved a one-week grace period. It has now been two weeks. 

Well, over the weekend the clocks moved forward. This may not sound like the kind of milestone that warrants new years resolutions but bear with me. I first started running (again) after my exams in June 2014. It was summer, I was living in the Kent countryside, I was working from home but it was still light and bright by the time I finished in the evenings. After work, I could go for a run. Then the winter came. The nights darkened and the clocks went back.

Running became a thing I did on my lunch breaks, but I didn’t always have time. By the time I finished worked, it was too dark to run on the country roads, which had neither pathways nor streetlights.

Kent field UK

Now, the sun is back. Even if I’m working from the office, it should still be light by the time I get home. I have cut an hour off my commuting time after all. Admittedly, London does have both streetlights and paths so, even when the sun goes down, that’s not really an excuse. I do realise that if I go running on the streets of London after work then I am going to have to fight my way through hoards of commuters but I’m hoping the sight of me running along madly will be enough to cause the parting of the crowds.

So, here we are. A new week, a new time, I’m actually going to make an effort to keep some resolutions. Or at least, I will feel guiltier about breaking them. So far I have barely even noticed as they passed me by.

Now, without further ado, my New Year’s Resolutions are going to be as follows:

  • Eat healthier– this means healthy meals and unhealthy snacks kept for special occasions, like meals out. Or evenings. Just to be on the safe side, I have spent this weekend eating all the cake, biscuits and chocolate I could find in the house, just to make sure I’m no longer tempted.
  • Exercise more– by which I mean go running three times a week and actually take my yoga matt out of its plastic wrapping for some evening sessions in my new living room. My favourite part of yoga sessions used to be the 10 minutes at the end where the instructor would say soothing things in a calm voice. I actually used to nod off, I was that relaxed. I have now found an app that pretty much does that, so even if I can’t do the exercise part, hopefully I should be able to get my nap in.
  • Practice my German– I have to admit that I have not used my German nearly enough, since I finished my language course in Berlin in 2013. Well, it is never too late. I still have my German version of the first Harry Potter book, my language school textbooks and friends from Germany I can write to. I’ll be proficient by the end of the month. Year. Decade.
  • Learn to cook- I’m not entirely sure how I’ve got to 23 with barely any cooking skills. I’ve generally been quite lazy: my university diet was basically a combination of spaghetti and meatballs, curry made from sauce out of a jar, stir fry, fajitas and BBQ ribs. If someone was coming over for dinner then I’d crack out my mushroom risotto as that was all I had in my repertoire that counted as cooking. But no more! My flatmate and I have already made roast chicken (I was in charge to the cabbage- a very important aspect of any roast dinner, my flatmate took charge of secondary jobs like the chicken and potatoes) and beef bourginion and I have cracked out my butternut squash and chorizo risotto that I made one time. I am on my way with this one.

There they are- wish me luck (again)!

6 Comments

  1. I love the tone of this piece, your writing style is hilarious. Especially the part about eating the junk food so you are no longer tempted and possibly not doing the yoga but at least getting your nap. Good luck with your endeavors…no matter how you do, keep your sense of humor about it 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment, it’s lovely to hear you like my writing!! Since my attempts to eat well and keep fit do not always entirely go to plan, I find the best/only response it to laugh 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

