Fitness & Health, Tips and Inspiration
Comments 3

Getting fit for travel #12

23 February- 1 March 2015

In the last week, I may not have managed my three runs but I still feel as though I did pretty good. Even if I do say so myself. Having completed Day 2 of my C25k interval training app (two eight-minute runs with a five-minute walk in between) twice the week before I decided I had no choice but to suck it up and complete Day 3- a flat 20 minute run. No walking. I felt that was quite an escalation but my app had served me well in the past and I had always managed the next level when I thought it would be too much so I went with it. Surprisingly, it was actually manageable. 

I’ve never tried to measure my distance before but the app said that the 20-minute run should equal 2 miles which, according to my converter app, is about 3.22km. Considering I have until June to make it to 5km that does seem like pretty good progress. Having said that, I wasn’t moving that quick. I figured if I was going to complete the run I would have to take things slow- I can’t imagine I actually made it 2 miles but I think I’m definitely heading in the right direction.

UK Kent sheep

On Friday, I went for my second and final run of the week. Following my successful completion of a 20-minute run, I felt ready for the next big challenge- moving up a level- only to find that Level 6 Day 1 was a five-minute jog, an eight-minute jog and then another five-minute one, with two three-minute walks in between. That didn’t seem like much of a step up but I’m sure there’s a reason for it. Perhaps it’s meant to build up stamina better or maybe it’s just that interval training is better for you than just jogging. Who knows. Either way, I did it and, although I again didn’t measure my distance, I did at least feel as though I managed to increase my speed. I even managed a longer than average sprint on my way back.

Food-wise, I have very little to report, apart from the discovery of Weight Watchers’ Lemon Cake Slices (I actually discovered these a few weeks ago but forgot to mention it but I bought them again this week so here they are). Diet or no diet, getting fit or not getting fit, sometimes a girl just needs cake. I found the slices on sale in Tesco (65p, thank you very much) and figured they would be a good way to satisfy my craving, since each one is only 78 calories. Admittedly, it’s probably not so good if you eat all five- but I only ate three. Each individual packet is quite hard to get into- perhaps that’s why they’re not so bad for you, you must burn calories desperately trying to get into it. Thankfully, the design was no match for my cake-craving self and my pointy pen, which managed to burst open the plastic wrapping.

3 Comments

  1. katiestanwyck says

    Impressive! I have been trying to get myself to start running again and I think you’ve just inspired me 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, that is lovely to hear! I’d really recommend the ‘Couch 2 5k’ app- I find it builds stamina well and I can motivate myself to do interval training much more than I can for just running!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Fitness for Travel | Around The World in 8 Years

Leave a Reply

