Fitness & Health, Tips and Inspiration
Comments 14

Getting fit for travel #7

20 December 2014- 3 January 2015

I was worried that I wouldn’t have the motivation to do exercise during Christmas week. Turns out, I was wrong. Having started my Christmas holiday, I made it to early afternoon on Monday before I was itching to do something. I spent the morning doing what I like to call “life admin” and I needed to get out. I therefore ran out the house to go for a run.

I’ve been stuck on Level 4 of my Couch 2 5K interval training app since the summer, which was probably the last time before last week when I made it out for the required three runs per week. Since last week was more successful, I decided it was time to go up to Level 5: three five-minute runs, interspersed with two three-minute walks. It was much easier than I thought; in fact I even managed to turn the last 20 seconds into a sprint. I didn’t make it as far as usual since I generally decided to take it slow- I only made it far enough to see the sheep were hiding that day- but I did manage to still get in some singing as I went. If you’re ever in a bad mood, I suggest going for a run and singing along to some tunes. It did the trick.

The next day, I had a repeat- I needed to get out the house and running was the obvious answer. I turned onto day two of Level 5 but was unpleasantly surprised to find that this level was different to the previous ones. It wasn’t three days of the same routine, instead it was Β two 8 minute runs with a five minute walking break in between. That was longer than I have ever run before so I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty but it turned out not to be quite as bad as I’d thought, although I was far from sprinting by the end.

Unfortunately that was where my exercise ended. The following day was Christmas Eve and I went deep into holiday mode.

photo (9)

I’m not going to go into details about my food habits over the past fortnight- I haven’t been keeping track since I made the judgment call that my food diary didn’t have space to keep an accurate list of the roast dinners and chocolates I have been munching on. I actually had a cheesecake dessert after breakfast the other day. Despite the sheer volume consumed, my fridge is still practically full.

We’ve now passed the new year mark and clearly, since I am currently sitting next to a jar of chocolate, my resolutions haven’t kicked in yet. But that’s okay, everyone knows you can’t start a resolution mid-week and since it’s back to work on Monday that seems like the perfect time. My list doesn’t really contain anything out of the ordinary, in fact it is sadly standard: eat healthier, exercise more, save money. Basically the things that appear on lists worldwide and the things that I have never kept in any of my 23 years- not that saving my pocket moneyΒ was one of my childhood resolutions. This year however I am cautiously optimistic that things could be different. For one thing, I have never run for 8 minutes before.

14 Comments

  1. jessicarainbowinspiration says

    Wow! Good job on exercising despite all the festivities! *claps*

    I am on the C25K program too! Will be running Week 3 Day 3 later πŸ™‚ Unlike you, I didn’t have the determination to continue exercising through the holiday week and hence missed a week of running in December 😦

    Good luck on your health and fitness journey! You can do it if you put your mind to it! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you! Sadly I did end up missing a week in December and then again in January! I seem to have broken my new years resolutions already but fingers crossed I can resurrect them again soon! I hope that your fitness journey is going better than mine!

      Like

      • jessicarainbowinspiration says

        It doesn’t matter if you break them, as long as you get back to doing them πŸ™‚
        Mm I was really busy the past 2 weeks so I didn’t exercise much. But I’m happy to say that I went to the gym on Sunday and today πŸ™‚

        Like

      • That’s what I’m telling myself! Well done, I was going to go to the gym Saturday morning but I may have overslept πŸ˜›

        Like

  2. Watch out for the junk food, Ellis. The jar of chocolate sounds mighty interesting. Congratulations on the 8 min. run. Happy New Year.
    Leslie

    Like

    • Thank you very much! The junk food has been getting the better of me at the moment but hopefully I’ll be able to motivate myself to avoid it soon πŸ˜› A belated Happy New Year to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anya Peach says

    Well done on 8 minutes! I got to 20 minutes with my app and i never thought I could do that! Keep training. And good luck on Monday πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Svetlana F.I. says

    yeah)) it`s so relaxing time (specially in Russia – we have almoust 2 weeks) Haven`t done any excersise during 4 days((… browsing Internet, working on music projects…

    Like

Leave a Reply

