Fitness & Health, Tips and Inspiration
Comments 12

Getting fit for travel #6

13-19 December 2014

On Monday, I managed to find the motivation. Following the weekend, I was in the mood for a run and, since I was working from home, I decided I would go out on my lunch break. I find that it’s a good way to break up the day and I can stuff my face when I get back. However, it does mean that there are multiple hours before that time to demotivate myself. My willpower did wane as the morning went on but come lunchtime I was out on the road.

As I’ve said before, I’ve been stuck on Level 4 of Couch to 5K. You’re meant to go three times a week and afterwards you go up a level. Since I have been going once a week at best, I haven’t really tried to move from Level 4. Particularly since I found last week’s cold run tough. This week however I found it slightly easier. It wasn’t as cold for one thing and I was in a good mood. In fact, I was in such a good mood that I even started singing along to my music. That is one good thing about running in the countryside- a lack of people. I kept schtum when I was around houses and cars. It wasn’t particularly easy; I was out of breath, I cannot sing and my favourite running song isn’t necessarily one for karaoke, but I gave it my best shot. I think I did end up swallowing a fly though.

IMG_7201

The next day, the sun was out and I was in the mood for a run again. I had thought about upping the level of my interval training, since yesterday didn’t seem too difficult, but the afternoon before I started to get tight chested. I was feeling better but not perfect so I decided not to push it. Any excuse, eh? My run was good and the sheep didn’t even look at me this time. Apparently they recognised me now.

To top it all off, I actually made it out for run number three on Wednesday- and the singing was back. I’ve discovered that clubbing music is a great soundtrack to have on when running. I’m often in the mood for a dance and running is a good way to channel that when a dance floor is not to hand. The upbeat tempo is also helpfully energetic. It has been a while since I stacked up that many runs in a week but, after that, I was back working in the office and so that’s where it ends for now. I would like to say that I’m hopeful I’ll keep it up with the pace but, since this week is Christmas, I’m not optimistic.

I started the weekend off with a lot of food. On Saturday, I had a big stack of American pancakes with bacon, sausage, egg and maple syrup. On Sunday, I had two roast pork belly dinners. The first on was at a restaurant in Kensal Rise, where I went with some friends, and it was delicious. As the week went on, there was a daily intake of pasta, my brother’s birthday cake, almost an entire box of festive French Fancies, burger and chips and a three course meal that made up my work Christmas lunch. To be honest, considering the time of year, I don’t think that’s too bad at all.

12 Comments

  1. It really does suck running outside in this cold, but good for you for pushing yourself and getting out there! That’s awesome! The one key tip that I’ve learned when it comes to eating clean and working out. It’s listen to your body, and everything in moderation xx

    Like

  2. Most people don’t even think about exercise during the holidays so you’re ahead of most! Btw, how cold is it there? In miami, i feel like 90F (32C) is when i really hate it but we’ve been enjoying our “lows” lately of 70F (21C)… Feliz navidad!

    Like

    • Thanks! Wow I wish England had lows of 21C! I think it has been around 8-9C, which is warmer than it has been in previous years, but there has been some particularly cold days! I hope you had a great Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Harder Better Faster Stronger #1 | Notes by a Russian

Leave a Reply

