City Guide: London, UK

This post is part of my series of city guides, designed to give you a bit of an introduction into the city in question: activities, accommodation, transport, restaurants, food and nightlife. It’ll also basically act as a contents page for everything I’ve ever written about the place. This one is structured a little differently. Since I’m in London several days every week for work and general social merriment, any city guide I write will be constantly updated. Therefore, I’m directing you to the various categories instead.

I’ve lived in Kent, an hour’s train journey away from London since the age of 1 when my parents decided to leave London for the country. I’ve been obsessed with the city for as long as I can remember: the museums, the landmarks, the red buses and black cabs and the general hustle and bustle.

Finally, in September 2013, I was able to go to London on a regular basis, after starting a postgraduate course in Waterloo. Now I work in Hertfordshire, which requires going from Kent, across London and out the other side. It’s quite a trek but means that I get to spend a lot of time in my favourite city.

London has many free galleries and museums, so even though it’s not the cheapest city in the world, there are ways of doing it on a budget. Camden market has an amazing food court and always smells of incense, making you feel like you’re somewhere more exotic. The Southbank is a lovely place for a stroll, a bite to eat or to take in a play. Leicester Square is stuffed full of restaurants and, of course, cinemas (although these are pretty expensive unless you have an 2-4-1 Orange Wednesday voucher). I always end up at  Covent Garden’s, Ben’s Cookies- they do amazing cookies (bet you didn’t see that one coming) and milk and you can munch away whilst watching a street performer. There is also an array of parks, perfect for catching some rays when the sun finally makes an appearance, including St James’s Park which is home to a group of pelicans. You have to see them to believe it.

Attractions

UK London Hampton Court

Food

BNh-576CQAE05EZ

Nightlife20140406-104500.jpg

ShoppingIMG_1298
Street art
London east dulwich street art UK

TransportLondon buses

13 thoughts on “City Guide: London, UK

    1. Ooh thanks for the tip! Leicester Square cinemas are expensive, I only go on days when I get an Orange Wednesday discount but since that seems to be ending it’s good to know of somewhere cheaper nearby!

      Like

Leave a Reply

