Fitness & Health, Tips and Inspiration
Comments 16

Getting fit for travel #4

29 November-5 December 2014

This week’s post is more of a confession. A confession that I have done basically no exercise whatsoever, despite the fact that I’ve been working from home several days so a lunch break run was more than possible. Generally, my excuse is that it has been far too cold and gross to motivate myself to leave the comfort of my onesie, but, admittedly, I did spot a few rays of sun on Friday. Please feel free to express your disappointment in me below.

Currywurst at Winter Wonderland

In my defence, I did go swimming. Once again I invited around a friend with considerably more willpower than me. We had a catch up and some dinner and soon it was almost time to leave so that we would be ready for when the lanes opened at 9pm. Then the conversation took a change of direction. Instead of comparing our lives, we moved onto feminism and religion. By the time one of us realised the time, it was 9pm. Damn. Apparently they only let you in until 9.15pm and I still needed to change, pack my bag and drive there. I reasoned that it was too late but my buddy wasn’t going to let me get out of it that easily. Instead we made it there as the clock struck 9.15pm.

A German pub at Winter Wonderland

After she pleaded with the guy at reception and since we were able to hand over the exact change, we were in. Usually I get out as soon as I can see the supervisors getting restless and wanting to shut the pool but since I was late and considering that I can change into my trackies at the same rate that Clark Kent can become Superman, I figured it would be fine to keep going a bit and I managed about a 35-minute swim with only a couple of stops.

IMG_7082

Making falafel

Food-wise has been same old, same old really: home-cooked dinners (kedgeree, pasta, chicken and potatoes etc) and my falafel, chilli and garlic dip salad/salmon and eggs on toast lunches. That may sound good/not too bad but lets not forget that December started on Monday, there will therefore be chocolate every day until Christmas. I know that non-chocolate advent calendars are an option but they aren’t for me. I was 18 when I got my first chocolate calendar; I was walking past a shop when I saw a Bart Simpson one on sale in the window. My mum had never let me have one, instead we just got the pictures, but I thought, “I’m an adult now. If I want a chocolate Bart Simpson advent calendar then I am going to buy one.” Since then, my mother  has relented and she still treats my brothers and me to one each year. I can’t give in and go back to the pictures now.

IMG_7083

Making falafel

This week, instead of buying a small, expensive pack of falafel that lasts only a couple of days, I got a box of falafel mix. Last time I used it, I made 16 falafel balls, which lasted for four meals. This time I got a bit overexcited and only ended up with enough for three days but that’s still better than when I buy them pre-made. Sadly, however, I was slightly generous when I was adding water into the mix, as per the instructions. This meant it was harder to get them to harden and I ended up with them burnt on the outside and slightly gooey on the inside- hence there will be no post-cooking photos of them. They hardened as they cooled but weren’t quite right. Still, I popped some in my salad for the next day and froze the rest. Every night since I have forgotten to defrost them- mainly because I’ve been working from home and so don’t think about my lunch until the minute my stomach starts rumbling. At least they’ll be fine for the upcoming week.

IMG_7145

Joe’s Southern Kitchen & Bar

Also worth mention is the pasta dish I created this week. Basically, I was trying to figure out what I wanted for my lunch and decided that I felt like pasta, gherkins and/or my onion and garlic dip. So I cooked the pasta, stirred in some tomato and basil sauce, mixed in a sliced gherkin and added a dollop of dip. It wasn’t gross, in fact it was actually not bad. Hold on while I let Italy know. I’ve called it Pasta alla Student- named after my days at university. As I reached the last week of each term, I was loathe to do another food shop, knowing that my money had pretty much run out and that I’d be home at the weekend for a while. Instead, I’d throw whatever I could find together and see if it made a meal.

I forget my combinations but I do remember eating the contents of my cool bag when I was leaving Australia. My travel buddy and I had an amazing meal of rice in tomato pasta sauce, pasta in tomato pasta sauce, noodle soup and goon (aka cheap boxed wine). I had a whole bag left that needed drinking but after several weeks of the stuff I couldn’t stomach it anymore and left it on the free food shelf in my hostel kitchen. You are welcome whoever found it.

IMG_7147

Joe’s Southern Kitchen & Bar

Back to the matter at hand, I ate out a few times this week: currywurst at Winter Wonderland, fried noodles from Wagamama and burger and chips from Joe’s Southern Kitchen & Bar. I know that I may have not picked the healthiest options but if I’m paying more for my food then I’m going to be ordering whatever is on the menu that makes my mouth water the most. Sorry about that.

16 Comments

  1. Anya Peach says

    I had my first ever advent calendar when I was 21, no lies!

    But it looks like you are not doing too bad(considering it’s so close to Christmas). Keep going and then go in full force in January(that’s what I keep telling to myself while I’m struggling to zip up my jeans ha)

    x

    Like

    • Wow, you beat me there! That’s my plan I think, I’ve managed to do a bit better but I’m hoping things will get into full swing in January. I never seem to be able to keep my new year’s resolutions but maybe this time will be different!

      Like

      • Anya Peach says

        I’ve never made any New Years resolutions before, so I’m going to try and stick to it. Maybe I’ll blog about it so that there is pressure to stick to it?

        Like

      • I’d definitely recommend blogging about it as a way of motivating yourself, I have done exercise purely because otherwise I know I’ll have to admit not having done anything on here- it helps!

        Like

      • Anya Peach says

        I think I might start a section on it, that way i feel really bad when i have to admit to crazy amounts of beer that i consume. And how much mayo is in my sandwich.
        I love exercise, but you know what they say ”you can’t outrun a bad diet”

        Like

      • Those are very wise words! I enjoyed your first post and I look forward to keeping up with the rest! I must admit, I have avoided those touchy subjects on my posts so far, so maybe I should address them in the new year!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anya Peach says

        The only reason I started it’s because it gives me more motivation not to flake out. It’d be a bit embarassing to post 2-3 times and then drop it. Plus you never know, someone mighy find it useful?

        Like

      • Anya Peach says

        I hardly ever make any New Year’s resolution, but this year I really need it so fingers crossed!

        Like

      • Good luck! I never keep mine but I’m hoping this year will be different- I mean, I’m not off to a good start but I figure that resolutions will really start on Monday 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anya Peach says

        Monday is the day to start! I was being too ambitious thinking I will start on Thursday

        Like

Leave a Reply

