Thailand Part Two: the tour comes to an end

19 September 2011

After a surprisingly good night sleep on the overnight train from Chiang Mai, I was ousted from my bed at 7am by staff who wanted to put the beds back. An hour or two later, we were finally pulling into Bangkok station and we walked the short distance over to the rather nice Bangkok Centre Hotel, before popping to the nearby 7-Eleven for breakfast. Since my steamed pork bun was a bit disappointing, I ended up with popcorn chicken from the station’s KFC. Never mind.

Wat Arun

At 10.30am, I met up with the group and we caught a boat up the river to Wat Pho. Perhaps inevitably, we ended up on a boat going in the wrong direction but we changed quickly and made it to Pier 8, passing Wat Arun on the way, and it wasn’t long until we found the giant, golden Reclining Buddha. It was pretty impressive really. By that point, we had seen many a temple and so didn’t take the opportunity to explore the surrounding buildings.

The Reclining Buddha

Instead, we set off up the road to our next destination: the Grand Palace. We were met by someone who told us we were heading in the wrong direction so we turned around and walked along the wall of the palace, only to be met by a tourist policeman who informed us the palace was closed before 3pm- or that it was a Buddhist festival day- I’m not sure what exactly we ended up on. Thankfully though, he had a mate with a tuk tuk who could take us to an array of other places. Needless to say, we were skeptical so bid him farewell.

Wat Pho

Unsurprisingly, our new friend had not been telling the truth. The entrance to the palace was wide open and people were flooding in. It turns out that where we’d met the first guy who told us we were going the wrong way was just around the corner from where we had needed to be. I’m guessing he knew the tuk tuk driver as well. Sadly, as a conspicuous tourist, you do need to have your wits about you. Another heads up, you need to have your arms and legs covered. There are places nearby to buy longer clothing if you forget but its cheaper to just remember.

At the ticket booth, we discovered it was 400 baht to get in. After some deliberation, most of our group decided to continue and I was glad to be in that section. I had mainly wanted to go and see the emerald Buddha but this turned out to be dwarfed, literally, by the beautiful, ornate buildings and other golden statues. We also found a perfect model of Angkor Wat.

The Grand Palace

Once finished, we all regrouped at the famous backpacker haunt, Khao San Road for yet more MacDonald’s (I’m really sorry about my lack of ability to recommend many cultural restaurants). We didn’t stay there long and instead crammed into a taxi and headed to the MBK shopping centre for about 100 baht. The centre was basically a market in a mall, with floors and floors of all the souvenirs you could possibly need. I think I stocked up on birthday presents for the next year. It certainly made for a cheaper option.

The Grand Palace

Later, after a rest at the hotel, we headed back to Khao San Road for our last night on the tour. We ended up on a parallel street at a restaurant called the Macaroni Club, which had some pretty good food and which coincidentally turned out to be next to the hotel I would be moving to the next day. Once we’d eaten, it was back to the road for drinks.

The Grand Palace

Sadly, that’s where my diary ends. I was in Bangkok for several more days but didn’t get round to writing about it! Typical, I didn’t finish my last travel journal either. I will try and piece together how I spent the next few days- it’s not like I am short on photos to jog my memory- so stay tuned for my last post about my trip to Southeast Asia.

2 thoughts on “Thailand Part Two: the tour comes to an end

Leave a Reply

