5 Places I’d Love to Revisit

There are so many places in the world that I want to go to and I’m pretty sure that there’s not enough time for me to see them all. That said, sometimes I just want to go back to somewhere I’ve already been to. I mean, if it’s good- why wouldn’t you?

Vasudha Aggarwal from Travel Defined and Monika Moreva from Two and a Half Bloggers (two fellow travel bloggers who I seriously recommend you check out if you haven’t already) nominated me for this post. Basically, this is an idea by “Booked.net – Top Destinations to Go There” which involves bloggers picking the top five places they would love to go back to. I also have to link back to the original Booked.net post and nominate five people to carry it on. Seems like a great idea to me so lets go:

1. Berlin, Germany

Admittedly this is a place I have already revisited- more than once in fact. But, in my defence, it is just the best place and I’m pretty set on revisiting again and again. I’m the first to admit, I am a creature of routine. As much as I love travelling and discovering new places and meeting new people, I also like the familiar and the places that feel like home. Berlin felt like that immediately: it’s my home away from home. As Germany’s capital city, Berlin has lots to entertain you and keep you busy, but it also has a sense of calm that places such as London just don’t have. It is also a hipster haven, meaning that there is always something alternative and a bit quirky to brighten up your day.

2. East Coast, Australia

Maybe I am cheating here by choosing an area rather than a place but, in all honesty, I just can’t narrow it down. As a backpacker, there is actually nowhere better to go than east coast Australia. Okay, you are more likely to meet tourists than locals, and that is a shame, but on the other hand you meet such a variety of people, from different backgrounds across the world. There is also so much to do and see: from dancing on the tables at Byron Bay’s Cheeky Monkey’s restaurant bar, to driving across Fraser Island’s beach and rainforest and sailing around the white sand beaches of the Whitsunday Islands. And don’t forget swimming with turtles along the Great Barrier Reef. It was also the first place I’ve ever really felt relaxed. I’d do it all again in a heartbeat.

3. Queenstown, New Zealand

New Zealand is a staggeringly beautiful country, where you can throw yourself off a number of objects from varying heights if you fancy some extreme-filled fun or go on long hikes if you that is more your thing. It is also home to a lot of sleepy towns. Queenstown, however, was far from sleepy, in fact it actually plays host to the country’s highest bungee jump. Whilst you can take part in an array of extreme sports and visit the surrounding landscape, the highlight, for me at least, was Fergburger- a burger shop open for over 20 hours each day, where you can buy the bestest, juiciest, loveliest burgers in all the world. Literally, even without all of the other amazing stuff to do, I would go all the way back to NZ simply for another one of those bad boys. What can I say, you just can’t beat a good burger.

4. Luxor, Egypt

I have wanted to go to Egypt since I first saw The Mummy and decided I wanted to be an archeologist. Fast forward a decade or so and, whilst I may not be an archeologist, I did finally make it to Egypt. My holiday buddy found a great-looking deal to Luxor, home to Karnak Temple, Luxor Temple, Valley of the Kings and Valley of the Queens. I was beyond excited but even then I didn’t realise how much I would love it. Whilst I do enjoy travelling around, I also like having the opportunity to relax, lie in the sun, and make an inevitably doomed attempt at tanning. Luxor combined both. I could go out and see Egypt’s historical treasures but I could also lie back by the pool in my beautiful hotel- perhaps even with a cocktail. In fact, in the scorching summer heat, pool time wasn’t just an option, it was a necessity, so I didn’t have to feel guilty about doing nothing. I also had the opportunity to fly north to Cairo for a day to see the Pyramids, the Sphinx and the Egyptian Museum. I’d love to go back and see some of the less publicised ruins and fly south instead, to see the temples of Aswan and Abu Simbel. Oh, and to reclaim my sun-lounger next to the pool.

5. Crete, Greece

As you may have gaged from the above- I love really, really old stuff. I even studied Classical Civilisation at school and university (i.e. ancient Greece and ancient Rome). Going on a tour around Greece would probably be my dream trip, particularly as I have never been to the mainland. When I was about 15/16- I forget when exactly- I went to Crete on a family holiday. Whilst there, my dad had said that he wanted to visit some of the archeological sites but the rest of us were more interested in the beaches and the pool. We didn’t make it to any. Looking back, I don’t know what I was thinking because my obsession with ancient history had started by then. I think I just didn’t really know what exactly was on the island, such as the Palace of King Minos at Knossos. Although it was one of my favourite family holidays, in hindsight, it could have been so much more. I guess I will just have to go back. As you can see, I also need some more photos.

Now it’s your turn:

  1. Misadventures With Michael 
  2. Two Brown Feet
  3. Fractions of the World
  4. The Gourmet Backpackers
  5. The College Girl’s Guide to Study Abroad 
19 thoughts on “5 Places I’d Love to Revisit

    1. Ooh there are lots of places!
      Off the top of my head, I’d recommend the East Side Gallery- it is a stretch of the Berlin Wall which has been covered in murals. Weekend Club is a good option if you want to have a night out, it’s a techno club at the top of an office block and there’s a roof terrace so you get really great views of the city. I spent a month living in Kreuzberg, which is a great area, near Kottbusser Tor and there were lots of good restaurants there which are quite reasonably priced. Museum Island has about five different museums and galleries which I loved- they are particularly good if you are interested in ancient history. Then, of course, there are all the World War sites and museums which are really worth a visit. I took a couple of free walking tours that I’d recommend, one was a general one that went to the main tourists sites and explored their history and the other was an alternative tour that looked at all the street art in the city- of which there is loads! If you are there on a Sunday, then Mauer Park is a must. They hold an open karaoke session that is really entertaining to watch, and there is also a flea market. I went in summer so I’m not sure if it continues during winter but it definitely worth looking into!
      I hope that helps and that you have an amazing time!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much! I can’t wait to go. I’m very lucky be because I’m going just after Christmas markets open 🙂

        Like

  1. I love reading about places, that someone enjoyed so much, that he has to go back to it. I haven’t been to any of the places you have mentioned, aside from Berlin. I love Berlin, because it is so hip and modern, but still has a lot of history.

    Like

Leave a Reply

