Asia, Hong Kong
Comments 13

The Modern Toilet Restaurant @ Hong Kong

When my friend told me about the toilet-themed restaurant in Hong Kong, I decided this was something I needed to see for myself- if only just for the photo opportunities. As we sat down, it was pretty easy to tell that we were in the right place:  there were pipes, urinals and decorative toilet seats on the walls, the tables were sinks with a glass top and we sat on toilets. Part of the restaurant was also  designed to look like a shower room. The food was served in miniature loos and basins and, I have to say, it didn’t taste great- but what the food lacked in taste, the restaurant made up for in sheer novelty-value. Although, they seemed to have run out of quite a bit of food. We had unlimited cake and ice cream but sadly the only flavours of ice cream were taro (a kind of purple potato thing), coffee (which I didn’t like at the time but, since my time at university, necessity has made me a coffee-fan) and sesame. We didn’t really order much dessert.

13 Comments

  1. I wish I had known about this place when I visited HK in february! I love novelty restaurants. I suppose it gives me yet another excuse to visit again!!!

    Like

  2. Kind of disappointing the food wasn’t amazing as well. All the decor, dishes, and table look extraordinary. Was there a real bathroom there that you saw?

    Like

    • I have to say, I was a bit disappointed by that as well but it was worth going just for the pictures. There must have been an actual bathroom there somewhere but I don’t think I saw it!

      Like

  3. Never been to HK but I’ve heard about this toilet-themed restaurant before. My imagination’s so vivid that I can’t imagine actually eating here, maybe to accompany someone and have photos taken too, yes. 🙂 Nice blog by the way! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment! I think there are a few toilet-themed restaurants in different countries. The food wasn’t amazing but it was worth going just to get the photos!

      Like

Leave a Reply

