Malaysia Part Three: towers and Christmas lights

Date I was there: 22-24 June 2010

Our bus pulled into Kuala Lumpur an hour earlier than expected. That meant we had to wait for our ride. Thankfully, we were dropped next to Sunway Pyramid Mall, so we had a chance to stock up on Body Shop treats and some dresses to combat the heat. Finally, we met our friend and went for a carbonara and tiramisu dinner at Italiannies. Afterwards, it was the footie (this was in the midst of the World Cup 2010) and bed.

Malacca

In the morning, we were up and out and on our way to Malacca. Since it was raining on our arrival, we sat down to lunch. I went for rojak, due to a lack of meat on the menu, which consisted of vegetables and fruit. I can’t say I was a massive fan but it probably did me some good, even with the sweet sauce. We then had a bit of a wander around some church ruins and a museum before we got to go shopping. After a clothes splurge in Jonker Gallery, we visited the Taming Sari Tower, from which you get panoramic views of the town from above.

DSC02709

On our way back to Kuala Lumpur, we stopped off in an area with several governmental buildings. The architecture was all very Aladdin-esque. I loved it. After our satay dinner, it was time for the football again. England was playing and we actually won and proceeded to the next round (obviously this wasn’t this year’s World Cup).

Kuala Lumpur

By the time we emerged the next morning, it was time to dive straight into lunch. I had something called Penang Fried Kway Teow which reminded me of Wagamama’s Yaki Soba, so obviously it was delicious and I was happy. Once we were fed and watered, we made our way over to Kuala Lumpur’s iconic Petronas Towers. On our arrival,  we were told that people had been queuing all morning for tickets to go into the building and they had now sold out. As we were leaving, we were suddenly beckoned forward and told that they had spares; someone couldn’t make it. We were in luck. We had time before we were scheduled to go into the towers so wandered around some fancy malls nearby. We had no hope of affording anything in them but we did get cookies at Famous Amos before heading back.

Kuala Lumpur

We were first shown a introductory film before being taken up to the bridge connecting the two towers. We spent some time taking pictures of the city below before we descended back down again. Our friend then took us for more local cuisine: nasi kandar. He also told us that even after six days, we had yet to try any actual Malaysian food. Apparently we were being fed a combination of Chinese and Indian. I’m sure we must of at least had something local in Penang though. After all, we had been eating a lot.

Malacca

On that note, I next stop was for further food, meeting the family at the Chicken Rice Shop for dinner. I didn’t think I would get an overly delicious meal of chicken and rice but it turns out I was wrong. I don’t know how they made it but this was no ordinary chicken and rice. At least, it’s not how it would have been if I had made it. Sadly.

i-City

After dinner, there was more food in store for us. Unfortunately, this wasn’t quite the same. We had heard a lot about the durian fruit and its infamous smell. It was now time to try it. My travel buddy said it just smelt like fruit to her. To me it smelt more like gone-off fruit. Or sewage. The guy at the stall seemed impressed that we ate it and more so when we tried the bitter one without complaint. Beneath the skin, the texture was like custard and the taste wasn’t too bad. I just couldn’t get past the smell. We were told that you either love it or you hate it. I guess it’s Asia’s answer to marmite. I will, however, be choosing marmite every time. Although I didn’t hate it. We also tried soya bean soup. I preferred it to the durian but marmite is still winning.

i-City

Later, we hit a night market, which we ended up powering through. Our real destination for the night was i-City, which I’m pretty sure was designed by Father Christmas. After one too many mulled wines. The site was covered in trees and animals made out of fairy-lights. There were also more solid, but equally fake, animals and some cacti thrown in. I have no idea why but it made for a good photoshoot. The night finished in a pool hall, where I, inexplicably, actually potted a few. Although overall I embarrassed myself, so nothing too drastic had changed with the world.

8 thoughts on “Malaysia Part Three: towers and Christmas lights

  1. So good, I found that review just now. I’ll be flying over to Kuala Lumpur on September 9th and hope to have a very good time. Thanks for the review, it will definetly help me to plan my trip 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

