New Zealand Part Four: burgers, teapots and canyon swings

Sadly, my travel buddy and I had to pick up our pace as our flights were looming. We therefore had to leave our bus and hop on another one to get to Queenstown. During the journey, we stopped off at a lake and grabbed a coffee before going for a wonder. That night’s stop was at Wanaka, which didn’t have much going on apart from a cinema. After a tasty but unfulfilling dinner of nachos and salad, we went off to see Iron Man 2. The screen room was filled with random sofas, armchairs and even a VW Beetle. The projectionist had a slip through the film and the image went but really that just added to the experience. Midway through the film there was an interval. You could tell when it was approaching as you could start to smell the freshly baked cookies wafting through the door.

DSC01639

After a trip to Base Hostel’s bar, Mint, which involved my first taste of a jaegerbomb, we went to bed and were then up the next morning to go to Queenstown. We had a couple of scenic stops before making to to be bungee bridge where we watched some people jump before getting told about AJ Hackett Bungy. The biggest bungee jump in New Zealand is the Nevis at Queenstown but since I had already jumped, I signed up to the canyon swing, the Nevis Arc, instead- something for me to look forward to.

On arrival, we had a group picture and checked into Nomads Hostel. I seemed to have been recently refurbished and so we were very happy with our choice. We then went to Fergburger, a restaurant that had been recommended to us by a friend. I understood why- it was fantastic and one of the highlights of the entire trip. We then went shopping, where I treated myself to a flag patch to sow on my back and a fishhook pendant necklace, which apparently means luck, strength and prosperity. I could do with all of those things. After dinner we went to Base Hostel’s bar, Altitude, before heading to World Bar where we had been told that if we got a wristband we would get a discount on drinks. With this, we managed to get teapot cocktails for the bargain price of $10 and we went for a Long Island Iced Tea. The night didn’t last too long and after a bit of a dance we turned it about about 12.30am.

Queenstown- Fergburger

At 8am, I left my travel buddy sleeping and went out to do my swing. I was in a group of several people but they were all doing the bungee so I went off to the swing station alone with the two supervises. They liked to wind me up a bit but then they guy held out his hand for a high-five, seeing I was nervous. At the moment that I hit his hand, the girl hit the button and I was swinging through the air. Sitting firmly in my harness, I was less scared than I was for my bungee jump. The experience also lasted for longer. I definitely preferred it. Although getting dragged back up to the platform at 120m was a tad terrifying.

28217_10150191344060331_919915_n

I got back to Queenstown and grabbed a Tropical Swine Fergburger and did a bit of a shop before squeezing in a nap before the night’s antics commenced. Our old bus had caught up with us, bringing with it all the familiar faces that we had left behind. We met up with them at Altitude before moving on to World Bar and then to Fergburger for chips on the way home. I was delighted when I realised it was still open in the early hours.

Queenstown

After a fantastic last night out in Queenstown, we made it to bed at some point between 3-4 am and were then up at 7.15 am and out an hour later on the bus to Christchurch.  Those six hours were not a pleasant experience. Christchurch was a bit dreary and and we ended up having a movie night in at the hostel as we really didn’t feel up to anything else!

Christchurch

The next day, after a nice lie in which was slightly disturbed by housekeeping, we wandered about some shops and then found a Wagamama’s. Christchurch quickly improved. Feeling very satisfied after a Yaki Soba and Katsu Curry,  we found a little market before going to the Art Gallery, which wasn’t huge but wasn’t bad. And that was pretty much it. We went to the bar that night, after a dinner of cheese and harm toasties with stale cheesy nachos, to check out some live music but  we didn’t stay for long as we needed our sleep for Australia. 

 

8 thoughts on “New Zealand Part Four: burgers, teapots and canyon swings

Leave a Reply

