6 things to do in Marrakech

I think I may have overestimated how much time I’d need in Marrakesh. It is an intriguing place but 9 days was too much, 5 days would probably have done the trick.

1. Djemaa el Fna Square

This should be pretty high on any list. During the day, the square is full of orange juice stands which provide the perfect refreshment during breaks from shopping in the souks. At night, a food market opens up and entertainers flock in. After dinner, the hustle and bustle can become a little overwhelming so I took to a nearby sky bar to have a drink in the breeze and watching the goings on from the calm above.

Djemaa el-Fna Square, Marrakech

2. The Atlas Mountains

This mountain range provide a stunning backdrop to the city and a visit is not complete without a trip into them to admire the scenery. Climbing them may be one option, but if you are anything like me and have issues with exercise even when you are not in immense heat, you can get a trip by car instead.

Atlas Mountain

3.  Ouzoud Falls

Not only is this 100m high waterfall very picturesque but trips can even include a swim in the pool below. A refreshing dip makes the relatively long, and likely rather hot, drive worth it. You may even get a chance to spot some monkeys dotted around.

Ouzoud Falls

4. Ait Benhaddou & Ouarzazate

A trip to Ouarzazate meant a very long and quite uncomfortable drive but on the way we stopped off at Ait Benhaddou, which ultimately made the whole day worth it.  These earthy buildings have been used as the setting for several movies and TV shows, including The Mummy, Gladiator and Game of Thrones- so they are a must for any film fans.

DSC01644

5. Ride a camel

I cannot pretend that this was the most comfortable experience, and I seem to recall a camel burping in my face at one point, but how often do you get the chance to trek through palm groves on the back of a camel? It is the ultimate desert experience.

Camel riding at Palm Grove

6. Eat tagine and drink mint tea

You cannot go to a place and experience the culture without eating the local foods.  Tagine is a meat and veg stew with some spices thrown in. My favourite one came with potatoes and onions. I could happily have lived off of that thing. Mint tea is also a must and good for re-hydrating. Be prepared for it to include a lot of sugar.

14 thoughts on “6 things to do in Marrakech

  1. Hi Ellis,
    Nine days is nice if you can sit back and relax. I’d love to go looking for fossils in the Atlas Mountains. We brought back a Trilobite and there were so many other interesting fossils there.
    Leslie

    Like

  2. I was in Marrakesh for 9 days also and thought it was too long. However I was there during Ramadan so my sleep was frequently interrupted by the calls to prayer 😉 We stayed in a beauty Riad 2 mins walk from the Djemaa El Fna…the square is just so busy ALL the time! Where did you stay there?

    Like

    1. Oh dear- not quite so relaxing then! That sounds fantastic, I was in a hotel a little further from the centre- it was a shame not to have been more central but it was quite a quiet area so I was able to spend a few days by the pool which was nice!!

      Like

    1. Thanks for your comment! I staying in a place called the Hotel Amine. I’ve read some mixed reviews for it but I had a pretty decent stay. It wasn’t particularly central but taxis were generally quite cheap into the centre so that was okay. It was quite good for me because my stay was relatively long and the place had a pool so could spend a few days relaxing, so really it depends on what you want from your trip 🙂

      Like

  3. Glad it’s not just me who found camels uncomfortable! Rode one in Oulad Driss for about an hour when maybe 15 minutes would have done me!

    Cant believe I missed the waterfalls, sounds like we where so close to them!

    Like

      1. Going Egypt mid-march and I just know I’ll ride one again. Just, because :p

        We travelled all over the south of Morocco. Must admit that I wasn’t a huge fan or Marrakesh. Would go back everywhere else in a heart beat.

        Like

      2. I actually managed to avoid camels when I went to Egypt but in hindsight I kinda wish I hadn’t- they may be uncomfortable but it was quite fun! I hope you have a great trip!

        It’s good to hear that you liked the rest of Morocco, I only went to Marrakech and I have to agree with you- I wasn’t a massive fan either, although there were some highlights. It did kinda put me off going back to Morocco but sounds like I may have judged it too soon!

        Like

Leave a Reply

