Tips and Inspiration
Comments 13

Sie sind mein Liebster blog

The lovely Emily @ Just Me and My Camera has nominated me for the Liebster award: my first award!

In a nutshell, the word liebster is the German word for dearest (or something like that). The award is passed between bloggers and is a fantastic way of discovering new sites. The idea is to pass it on to blogs you love that generally have less than 500 followers and get to know the blogging community.

liebster award

The rules are:

(a) Thank the blogger who gave it to you.
(b) Answer the eleven questions they ask.
(c) Nominate eleven bloggers with less than 500 followers.
(d) Ask these eleven bloggers eleven questions.
(e) Let these bloggers know that you have nominated them.

(a) Thank the blogger who gave it to you.

Obviously, a big, big thank you to Emily. Emily is a fellow travel blogger who has some great stories, tips and inspiration for places like Canada, Indonesia  and Thailand. I’ve really enjoyed reading about her adventures and I’m looking forward to reading more! You should definitely check out her blog.

(b) Answer the eleven questions they ask.

1. What’s your next dream travel destination and why?

In real life, my next travel destination is Venice (1 week to go!) Boating on the canals, the architecture, eating a lot; I am very excited. In dreamland, I would like to do a tour around Greece. I used to study ancient history at uni, so I would love to see all the places I learned about. 

2. Why doesn’t McDonald’s sell hotdogs?

That is a very good question! It should. Maybe it’s because you couldn’t really have a hot dog with a gherkin and the gherkin is the best thing about McDonald’s. Although maybe hot dogs would actually taste great with gherkins?!

3. Why is vanilla ice cream white when vanilla extract is brown?

Because otherwise it would look like chocolate ice cream and that would just be too confusing. 

4. How come lemon washing up liquid contains real lemons, but lemon juice contains artificial flavourings?

I didn’t know that! Maybe we should start drinking washing up liquid? 

5. Why did Yankee Doodle name the feather in his hat Macaroni?

Because Macaroni Cheese is just one of the best things and it really deserves a shout-out. 

6. What’s the biggest personal change you’ve ever made?

Oh that’s hard! The first thing that comes to mind is going from a person who hate heights to a person who at least pretends not to! When I was in New Zealand, extreme sports was the main thing on the activities menu, so bungee jumping and sky-diving were almost obligatory. I don’t regret doing either but I definitely preferred sky-diving, being so much higher actually made it less scary! 

7. Invisibility or flight?

Flight! Travelling would be so much easier, particularly on a budget. Although the height thing could be a problem.

8. What’s your earliest memory?

Kicking balloons around on my birthday. They had Minnie Mouse on. I have no idea which birthday this was! 

9.  If you could have any job in the world what would it be?

Well at the moment, I am studying law. So if I could be a travel writing lawyer then that would be perfect!

10. Are there any movies that you loved but hated the ending?

Yes! But no idea which ones. Maybe Skyfall. Fantastic movie and I didn’t hate the ending, I just really didn’t want it to happen. 

11. If your home were on fire and you did not have to worry about saving any of the four P’s (people, pets, photos, papers), what one item would you choose to save?

My favourite necklace. Over the years I have added charms to it; they are either things I have picked up abroad myself or things people have given me. It has bits & pieces from Israel, Egypt and Thailand as well as my St. Christopher, which has been around the world with me. 

(c) Nominate eleven bloggers with less than 500 followers.

  1. Saints on a Plane
  2. Travel Defined
  3. Wise Monkeys Abroad
  4. My Simple Delights
  5. Field Notes from Wonderland
  6. It Started in Asia
  7. My Girls on Tour
  8. London Little Chef
  9. She Hearts Earth
  10. Carolyn Gooderham
  11. Got The Post Card

(d) Ask these eleven bloggers eleven questions.

  1. What is the first thing to do on your bucket list?
  2. Tell me about your hometown. If I was visiting, what should I do there?
  3. I have a habit of getting lost whenever I’m travelling but I find when that happens, I discover the best places. Do you agree and where have you found?
  4. Chocolate and peanut butter: yes or no?
  5. What is your signature dish?
  6. What is your best food discovery?
  7. Do you have a song which reminds you of a certain travel story? If so, what is the song and story?
  8. What is your best travel tip?
  9. What is the one thing you always take travelling with you?
  10. Where is your favourite place?
  11. Tell me about your biggest travel mishap.
  12. What is your favourite blog post that you have written?

And that’s it! Hope you have fun coming up with answers and passing it on.

Happy Writing!

13 Comments

    • Thank you! You are welcome- yours is also very much deserved! I definitely need to try some of your recipes soon!

      Like

  1. Pingback: LIEBSTER – THE PAY IT FORWARD AWARD | I HEART EARTH

    • Thank you and you are welcome! Congrats on being nominated twice. I really enjoyed reading your answers- you’ve had some really amazing adventures!

      Like

    • Thank you, you are very welcome! Good luck with the move, I look forward to reading your answers. I’ll make sure to write up Venice asap 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award! | 20-something

Leave a Reply

