Studying in Berlin
Comments 2

When in Berlin, eat currywurst

You cannot go on holiday without trying some of the local cuisine. From sampling the local delicacies, you can tell as much about a place as you can from museums and sightseeing.

Everyone knows that Germany’s specialty is the bratwurst. I had the typical German meal in the typical German setting: a beer festival. Bratwurst in a hot dog bun, smothered in ketchup and mayonnaise, and a beer with a brass band in the background. It was the ultimate way to settle into the country.

IMG_1968

Berlin’s delicacy of currywurst takes this one step further and covers the sausage in curry sauce, with a dusting of curry powder. This may sound like a odd combination but if you like curry and if you like sausages then what’s not to love? I was certainly craving it enough to have it more than once.

During my first trip to Berlin, several years ago, I tried currywurst on a visit to Berlin Zoo, but I could only remember thinking that it wasn’t as weird as I was expecting. On my return, I treated myself to another one on an outing to Mauer Park one Sunday.

On Sundays, Mauer Park plays host to a karaoke session that draws in a large crowd of eager watchers and a flea market. If I can recommend doing anything in Berlin, it would be this- whilst eating currywurst.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

