Recipes
Leave a Comment

Backpacker Meals #2: Curry and Stir Fry

The first recipe I posted on here wasn’t something I actually made whilst backpacking. It was just something straightforward that I made with a few ingredients at university, when I was cooking on a similar budget. I made many a curry and stir fry when I was at university, however they were also the first proper meals I made when I was travelling. After smelling some delicious smells in the kitchens of New Zealand’s hostels, I decided it was time to try something other than tinned spaghetti when I arrived in Sydney.

The only problem is that cooking for one means that leftover stir fry veg will often go off, unless you eat nothing by stir fry veg for a while. The same thing goes for curry sauce and the assorted veggies which go in it.

It may sound a little odd but curry sauce can work just as well as stir fry sauce- at least rogan josh sauce does. Stir fries also work equally well with the stuff you’d put into a curry, like peppers, onions and mushrooms, instead of stir fry veg. I doubt you need a recipe for this (I used curry sauce out of a jar) this is more about the idea. Still, I have included instructions just for larks. Once again, the amounts are ambiguous. I use whatever’s leftover. 

Ingredients

      • Two chicken breasts
      • One onion
      • One red pepper
      • Pack of mushrooms (whichever are cheapest!)
      • One jar curry sauce (I use Rogan Josh but I reckon Thai Green Curry would work too)
      • Instant noodles
      • One naan bread

Stir-fry– one portion

Ingredients

    • One chicken breast
    • Half an onion
    • Half a red pepper
    • A handful of mushrooms
    • Half the jar of curry sauce
    • Half pack on instant noodles (or whole pack if you are hungry)

Recipe

      • Slice onion, red pepper and mushrooms and heat kettle.
      • Slice chicken into strips and fry until browned on outside then add veg and fry until soft and chicken is cooked through.
      • Put noodles in pan, add water and cook through.
      • Add curry sauce and let it heat through and simmer while noodles cook.
      • Serve.

Curry– one portion

Ingredients

      • One chicken breast
      • Half an onion
      • Half a red pepper
      • A handful of mushrooms
      • Half the jar of curry sauce
      • One naan bread

Recipe

      • Slice onion, red pepper and mushrooms.
      • Slice chicken into strips and fry until brown on outside then add veg and until soft and chicken is cooked through.
      • Add curry sauce and let it heat through.
      • Serve with naan bread- can warm slightly in microwave but make sure done quickly or can go hard!
        Personally I prefer bread and it means that you end up with less left over, but if you have already used my risotto recipe you may have leftover rice anyway. I have never used risotto rice in curry but how bad can it be?!

What to do with the leftovers? Any left over mushrooms can be put in with that extra risotto rice. Also, if you use a quarter of the onion and red pepper, instead of half, you can use the rest for some of my other meals

Leave a Reply

