Nutshell Music & Comedy Reviews: Latitude Music Festival 19/07/2013

Latitude describes itself as “more than just a music festival” and that pretty much hits the nail on the head. It has a diverse range of performances, ranging from music to comedians to literary speakers, meaning that there is guaranteed to be something for everyone. I particularly enjoyed the comedy but there was also some good music. It was very sunny, had a very chilled atmosphere and there were some all round good performances. You also cannot beat festival food, with stalls dishing out cuisines from all over the world.

Sean Walsh

Sean Walsh was hilarious, in fact I don’t think he said anything I didn’t laugh at. He was a great performer who used very relatable material.

Sean Lock

I’ve found Sean Lock funnier than I did when I saw him had Latitude but I still had a good chuckle so I can’t really complain.

Mark Watson

Mark Watson’s performance felt like he was having an actual conversation with the audience, making the performance feel unique performance. He was also pretty funny.

Marcus Brigstocke

Marcus Brigstocke agreed to stand in last minute (I think he was meant to be performing the next day) as Mark Watson’s train had been delayed. His politically themed humour was pretty good considering that he had little time to prepare.

Tim Walker

In his own words, Tim Walker’s “daydreams and doodles” reflect “a story that might be” and I couldn’t have put it better myself; his photos depict a fairytale in the real world. They were a pleasure to look upon.

Hadley Freeman

In her talk, Hadley Freeman had many interesting comments to discuss on several feminist issues. I found the talk particularly thought provoking.

Benjamin Francis Leftwich

For those who don’t know Benjamin Francis Leftwich, he is a singer-songwriter. His performance was very chilled which sat perfectly with the festival vibe on that sunny and warm evening. His calming voice was immaculate.

The Maccabees

I hadn’t listed to the Maccabees much before but again they had the perfect chilled out vibe for the chilled out, summer setting. Admittedly, I haven’t listened to them since but I did enjoy listening to them then.

Bloc Party

Bloc Party sounded as good live as they did on their records and I enjoyed their performance even though I knew few of their songs. They were the headlining act and it was a pretty good performance to close the day, with a particularly brilliant light show.

Leave a Reply

